Main Menu
I noticed bruises on a child that suggest abuse. Am I required by law to report?
Posted in Litigation

In the new Legal Forum Column, Christie A. Moore discussed child abuse or neglect reporting in Kentucky. Read her advice below and don’t miss our monthly Legal Forum Column in Louisville Business First.

Question
I noticed bruises on a child that suggest abuse. Am I required by law to report?

Advice
In 2014, 20 out of every 1,000 Kentucky children were victims of neglect or abuse. A child is abused or neglected when his/her health or welfare is harmed or threatened with harm by a parent, guardian, person in a position of authority or special trust, or person exercising control or supervision of the child.

In Kentucky, any person who knows or has reasonable cause to believe that a child is neglected or abused shall immediately cause a report to be made to an abuse hotline (1-877-KYSAFE1); local or state law enforcement; Cabinet for Health and Family Services; or the Commonwealth or County Attorney. Importantly, if your report is made “in good faith,” you are immune from legal liability.

If you fail to make a report, you could be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor, and ordered to serve up to 90 days in jail and charged a fine up to $250.


To learn more about Christie A. Moore and her practice, please visit her profile.

View the latest Legal Forum Column here.

  • Partner

    Christie practices in the area of white collar crime defense and complex commercial litigation, representing clients in health care, antitrust, securities, intellectual properties, RICO, and False Claims Act matters. She has ...

RSS RSS Feed

Subscribe

Recent Posts

Categories

Contributors

Archives

Back to Page