Main Menu

Southeastern Indiana Regional Port Authority Select Attorneys


Thursday, September 15, 2016 9:00 am

LAWRENCEBURG, IND. (Sept. 15, 2016) - The Southeastern Indiana Regional Port Authority (the “Port Authority”) has selected Andrew D. Baudendistel, a Lawrenceburg attorney associated with the Votaw and Schwartz law firm to act as legal representative for the Port Authority. In addition to SIRPA, Mr. Baudendistel currently serves Southeastern Indiana as the Dearborn County Attorney, the attorney for the Dearborn County Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals, the attorney for the South Dearborn Regional Sewer District, and is City Attorney for the City of Rising Sun, Indiana. Baudendistel graduated from Lawrenceburg High School in 2000, Hanover College in 2004, and NKU Chase College of Law in 2008. Mr. Baudendistel and his wife, Crystal, live in Lawrenceburg with their two children. Baudendistel replaces Jeff Stratman, who resigned to take a position in Phoenix, AZ.

The Port Authority has also selected J. Sebastian Smelko of the Indianapolis law firm of Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP to act as SIRPA Special Legal Counsel. Mr. Smelko’s prior experience includes assisting the Office of Governor Mitch Daniels as Assistant General Counsel, as well as, the Ports of Indiana as General Counsel and Governmental Affairs Director. Smelko is a graduate of Carnegie Mellon University and completed his law studies at the Valparaiso University School of Law.

Dearborn County Commissioner Shane McHenry, Chairman of the Port Authority, shared that Baudendistal’s experience working with county municipalities ensured he will be up to the task of performing the myriad of duties necessary for the Port Authority. Regarding the appointment of Smelko, McHenry shared that the local Port Authority felt that having special counsel in Indianapolis was a necessity as both the State and Ports of Indiana get ready to announce the location of the fourth port.

Located on the Ohio River in the southeastern region of the State of Indiana the Southeastern Indiana Regional Port Authority includes the cities of Aurora and Lawrenceburg and parts of Dearborn County. The Southeastern Indiana Regional Port Authority (SIRPA) is comprised of four representatives from the City of Lawrenceburg, four representatives from the City of Aurora and one representative from Dearborn County. The SIRPA Board meets monthly, every third Friday in the City of Lawrenceburg Council Chambers at 1 p.m. Lawrenceburg City Building, 230 Walnut St., Lawrenceburg, IN 47025. More information may be on the Southeastern Indiana Regional Port Authority website at

Back to Page