Main Menu

Dan Byron Elected President of Indiana Debate Commission


Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP partner Daniel Byron has been elected president and CEO of the Indiana Debate Commission. Dan has been a member of the IDC since its founding in 2007. He concentrates his practice at BGD in media law. He will succeed Max Jones, Editor of the Terre Haute Tribune-Star.

While serving as president, Byron will oversee the IDC’s handling of the 2016 Indiana gubernatorial and senatorial debates. This will include finding venues that accommodate crowds of 100 or more; locating host cities, studios and satellite linkage for the debates; deciding debate formats; and securing moderators for the events.

The Indiana Debate Commission is the only incorporated and independent debate group in the nation. Represented by 13 affiliates, the IDC provides a free satellite feed to broadcasters during election years to provide the widest viewing and listening audience possible. The IDC has hosted widely televised debates in contested races in both primary and general elections since its founding with all videos archived on this site for viewing.

Other newly elected officers include:

  • Keith Robinson, Vice President, News/Public Affairs Coordinator, Purdue Agricultural Commission  
  • Gerard Lanosga, Treasurer, Assistant Professor, Indiana University   
  • Cathleen Shrader, Secretary, Attorney, Barrett & McNagny LLP
  • Max Jones, Executive Committee Chairperson, Editor, Tribune-Star  

To learn more about the Indiana Debate Commission, please visit their website at

To learn more about Dan Byron and his practice, please visit his profile.


Back to Page