Main Menu

Tandy Patrick Elected President of the American Saddlebred Horse Association


News release shared with permission from the American Saddlebred Horse Association

Saddlebred Convention Culminates with Saddlebred Gala & Annual Awards; Association, Registry Seat New Boards

American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASHA) members, youth, and guests poured into the ballroom at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort and Spa in Lexington, Kentucky, on the evening of Saturday, February 18, 2012 to enjoy the culminating event of the 2012 ASHA Convention & Youth Conference, the Saddlebred Gala. 

Included in the night’s festivities were acceptance speeches by the recipients of ASHA’s Annual Awards, several of whom were greeted with rousing ovations. Award recipients included Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Dick Boettcher and Meritorious Service Award recipient Jimmy Robertson, among others. For a complete list of ASHA’s Individual Award winners for 2012, and previous years, visit the ASHA website, here. 

In other ASHA business leading up to Saturday night’s festivities, four new members of the Association Board of Directors were elected through balloting by the membership: Redd Crabtree (Kentucky), Randall Cates (Oklahoma), David B. Rudder (Kentucky), and Kenneth Wheeler (Virginia). Re-elected to the Board were Betsy Boone (North Carolina) and William Whitley (North Carolina). Leaving the board due to expiring terms are Louise Gilliland (Oklahoma), Nelson Green (Kentucky), Germaine Johnson (Kentucky), and Jim Ruwoldt (Georgia). 

New Association Board officers were also elected. The newly-elected officers are as follows: 

President: Tandy Patrick 
First Vice President: Redd Crabtree 
Second Vice President: Lisa Siderman 
Secretary: Betsy Boone 
Treasurer: Carl Holden 

The new ASHA Executive Committee consists of the newly-elected officers, as well as former President Judy Werner, and former and current Board members Dr. Margaret McNeese, Bob Funkhouser, and Germaine Johnson. 

In accordance with American Saddlebred Registry (ASR) Bylaws, ASR Directors were elected by the Board of Directors of the American Saddlebred Horse Association for one year terms. Those elected were Lisa Duncan (Kentucky), Dr. Margaret McNeese (Texas), Scott Matton (Wisconsin), Chuck Herbert (Indiana), Minna Hankin (Pennsylvania), Judy Werner (Illinois), Sandra Lilly (West Virginia), Don Schilling (Missouri) Brian Curran (Wisconsin), Lynda Freseth (Wisconsin), and Gail Kline (Kentucky). 

ASR Officer elections will take place at an upcoming Registry Board meeting in March.


Back to Page