Main Menu

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Proposes to Redesignate Kentucky Portion of Northern Kentucky Area to Attainment for 1997 PM2.5 Annual National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS)


In the October 21, 2011 Federal Register, EPA proposed to approve a request by DAQ to redesignate the Kentucky portion of the Cincinnati-Hamilton, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana PM2.5 nonattainment area to attainment for the 1997 annual PM2.5 NAAQS, and to approve a proposed SIP revision containing a maintenance plan for the Kentucky portion of the same area.  Previously, on September 29, 2011, EPA published a determination that the tri-state Cincinnati-Hamilton Area in Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana had attained the 1997 annual PM2.5 NAAQS.  The Cincinnati-Hamilton area is composed of Boone, Campbell and Kenton Counties in Kentucky, Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, and Warren Counties in Ohio and a portion of Dearborn County, Indiana.  EPA is also proposing to approve Kentucky’s NOx and PM2.5 motor vehicle emission budgets for the same area for 2015 and 2021. 

EPA is accepting comments on the proposal through November 21, 2011. Ohio and Indiana have also submitted requests to approve redesignation of their portions of the same area to attainment for the 1997 annual PM2.5 NAAQS. 

To view a complete PDF of the Third Quarter 2011 issue of the Air Quality Letter, click HERE.


Back to Page